9 Years





Fast Facts
  • No young children in the home

  • Good with other dogs

  • Unknown with cats

  • Good energy for a senior

  • Loving, affectionate boy

  • Need someone near during thunderstorms


More than anything in the world I’d like to have a family again. My first family lived in Puerto Rico, but they couldn’t keep me any longer. So, then I came to the U.S., and to As Good as Gold. I’m 9-years-old and my name is Warrior. Foster mom says that deep down I’m a lover, not a warrior!

My first foster family with As Good as Gold worked with me on basic obedience and manners. They discovered that I prefer affection to treats when being rewarded for learning new things or demonstrating good behavior.

To me, chasing balls is preferable to fetching them. I like going for walks but require a harness as I pull a bit. I’ll confiscate things like socks and stuffed animals, but I simply like to have them in my mouth, I don’t destroy them.

I have some allergies and a bit of arthritis in my hips; medication keeps both of these under control.  Storms can make me a bit anxious, but not severely anxious. I pant, pace, and so want to be cuddled when I hear the thunder. Once someone gives me a little boost, I do fine riding in a car.

People have described me as “affectionate, lovable, trainable, and a Velcro dog.” But I have some fears and behavior issues too. I get very afraid when someone from a standing position bends over me. Maybe it’s the surprise, but when it happens, I become assertive and leap towards them and get upset. Certainly I’ve never made contact or bitten anyone. A couple of times when I saw food on a counter and wanted it badly, I snapped at the person who wanted to prevent me from getting it. Again, I didn’t make contact, just gave my warning.

I’ve co-existed peacefully with other dogs in my foster homes. I don’t seek out their company or play with them, but I haven’t been aggressive toward them at all.

I don’t really think about it, but some people feel I prefer men over women. Maybe it was because in the one family I lived with I clung to a man in the house—perhaps he allowed me to feel safe. And he told me I was a “sweet guy,” so you bet I felt comfortable with him!

If I could just find a family who would give me the time I need to adjust to a new environment, and who would be willing to manage situations that might make me worried, I could be a very welcome pet who would be sweet and happy.

Note: Young people living in the home or visiting should be at minimum high-school age.

  • Be at least 23 years of age

  • No children under 6 years of age living in your home

  • We primarily adopt goldens to families living within Illinois, Northwest Indiana, and the southern most counties of Wisconsin

  • If you do not own your residence or live in a condo, you will need a letter from your landlord or property management company

  • Provide excellent vet care for your dog(s)

  • Do not use an invisible fence

  • Are not over your town/county's pet limit

  • Have the knowledge and agreement of all adults living in the household

  • Be prepared to make a lifetime commitment

  • QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR POLICIES? All your answers in our Frequently Asked Questions section.

If interested please fill out our online adoption application form; please make sure you fill in every required field/question or your submission will not go through. Please note that we take time to learn as much as we can about each dog in our care and our bios are our current observations; we are unable to make any guarantees on the future health or temperament of your adopted dog. Most dogs in our care come with unknown pre-rescue history and as such breed and age estimates are an educated guess.

Available Goldens for Adoption