About Us

As Good as Gold – Golden Retriever Rescue of Illinois is a membership-based, volunteer-supported 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Questions? Contact us!

img_2882 smaller

Our Mission

As Good as Gold – Golden Retriever Rescue of Illinois is dedicated to the rescue, care and adoption of Golden Retrievers and golden mixes who are in need.  In addition, As Good as Gold educates Golden Retriever guardians and the general public about the importance of spaying/neutering, positive training methods, diet and exercise, appropriate medical treatment and humane care.

To demonstrate its ongoing commitment to the core values of integrity, honesty, fairness, openness respect, and responsibility, As Good as Gold has formally adopted a Statement of Values and Code of Ethics to which all board members, staff, and member/volunteers will adhere.

  • Our values support a rewarding experience as a member, volunteer, or partner.
  • Our respect for other ethical rescue groups promotes good working relationships.
  • Our best practices support sustained growth and organizational effectiveness.
  • Our passion enables small miracles for the dogs and the people who love them.

Download our 2015 federal 990 report.

img_3215smaller

Contact Us

If you have any questions, or would like to learn more about As Good as Gold, please contact As Good as Gold through the appropriate person below and we’ll be happy to help you.

Mailing Address
As Good as Gold – Golden Retriever Rescue of Illinois
{Mailing address only}
518 S. Route 31, Suite 178
McHenry, IL 60050
630-588-0115

General Information
info@asgoodasgold.org

Adoptions
Kristin Vesely
adoptions@asgoodasgold.org

Dog Sitting
Lauren St. Andre
dogsitting@asgoodasgold.org

Education
Carol Giambalvo
education@asgoodasgold.org

Fiscal
Laurie McConahay
fiscal@asgoodasgold.org

Fostering
Barb Beshears & Tom Haimann
fosterhomes@asgoodasgold.org

Fundraising – Events
Lauren Robinson
events@asgoodasgold.org

Fundraising – Individual
Tamara Roush
goldenguardians@asgoodasgold.org

Home Visits
Cyndi Raine-Dentinger & Chris Petersen
homevisits@asgoodasgold.org

Intake
Marlene Pedone
intake@asgoodasgold.org

Medical
Janet Harrison
medical@asgoodasgold.org

Meet & Greet
Susan Lunn
meetgreet@asgoodasgold.org

Membership/Volunteering
Allison Felgenhauer
membership@asgoodasgold.org

PR/Marketing
Colleen O’Brien
pr-marketing@asgoodasgold.org

Technology/Web Support
Jim King
support@asgoodasgold.org

Transport
Marlene Pedone & Vickie Kukulski
transport@asgoodasgold.org

Success Stories
Email your As Good as Gold Success Stories to success@asgoodasgold.org

Board Of Directors

Cyndi Raine-Dentinger – President
Jim King – Vice President
Marlene Pedone – Treasurer
Kristin Vesely – Secretary
Barbara Beshears – Director
Allison Felgenhauer – Director
Carol Giambalvo – Director
Janet Harrison – Director
Laurie McConahay – Director
Colleen O’Brien – Director
Lauren Robinson – Director