Sasha got in line twice when they were giving out sweetness.” A quote from Sasha’s foster mom.

It’s going to be spring soon! I can sense it, as I’ve been through six previous springs. I’ll be able to take one of my stuffies outside. We’ll lie on the grass and smell the changes in the air: flowers budding, bunnies looking for places to build their nests, tennis balls rolling across the lawn.

I won’t be springing across the lawn myself. At this point, I simply enjoy the time I spend with my furry foster sister and my caring foster family. You see, I was found as a stray in Puerto Rico. I have a few fears, including thunderstorms. And if I know my foster dad is home, I like to be able to see him so I sometimes whine if he goes to the basement or garage.

My foster parents take me on drives in the car, though I need a little help getting in. I take a good snooze and leave all their things alone when I’m by myself in the house. I get along well with dogs I’ve met at the vet, but I’m not keen on cats. A long flight of stairs is a struggle for me. I have hip dysplasia, but luckily a common pain medication helps that.

My foster mom says I eat well, I sleep well, and that I’ve never had an accident in the house. She describes me as “quiet, cooperative, and a bit shy.” I’m no counter-surfer and I don’t beg for food. But, I sure do love to gobble up each meal I’m given!

I won’t be joining in any long walks, but I’d love to stay home with a family who loves me and whom I can love. I heard my foster mom say that I’m a “sweet, lovable girl.” Would you like to bring in the spring with a happy-hearted dog like me?

Female, 7 Years Old

Adoption Process
ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS, NO EXCEPTIONS:
  • Be at least 23 years of age

  • No children under 6 years of age living in your home

  • We primarily adopt goldens to families living within Illinois, Northwest Indiana, and the southern most counties of Wisconsin

  • If you do not own your residence or live in a condo, you will need a letter from your landlord or property management company

  • Provide excellent vet care for your dog(s)

  • Do not use an invisible fence

  • Are not over your town/county's pet limit

  • Have the knowledge and agreement of all adults living in the household

  • Be prepared to make a lifetime commitment

  • QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR POLICIES? All your answers in our Frequently Asked Questions section.

If interested please fill out our online adoption application form; please make sure you fill in every required field/question or your submission will not go through. Please note that we take time to learn as much as we can about each dog in our care and our bios are our current observations; we are unable to make any guarantees on the future health or temperament of your adopted dog. Most dogs in our care come with unknown pre-rescue history and as such breed and age estimates are an educated guess.

Available Goldens for Adoption