Age

3 Years

Weight

N/A

Energy

Sweet/Gentle

Fast Facts
  • Born in China
  • Seizures in the Past
  • Moderate Elbow Arthritis
  • Moderate Hip Dysplasia
  • Comprimised Distance Vision
  • Not Sensitive to Noise
  • Loves to Be Brushed
  • Needs to Be the Only Dog

Bio:

My name is May and I’m 3-years old. I was born in China. There, I was called “Da Mei.”

I am very excited to have my very own family!

Currently I’m living with a very nice foster family. Foster dad is working with the vet in helping me with some medical issues. Their care must be working because I’m feeling so much better! For one thing, I had developed seizures. The MRI showed that my brain is normal, and no signs of swelling. The vet cannot define their origin, but they haven’t been evident recently.

The vet has also identified bilateral, moderate elbow arthritis, moderate hip dysplasia, and compromised distance vision. I saw the eye doctor and they gave foster dad drops to put into my eyes and they are helping. Oh, I was also a bit overweight.

Foster dad says I’m a “very sweet and gentle girl.” And I can tell you that I really love people. Sometimes I get so happy that my tail wags, I give lots of kisses, and try to snuggle and play. I also get very excited when it’s walk time! I heard dad say, “May literally takes off down the driveway, almost running. I have never seen this from her before. I think her weight loss, even a few pounds, coupled with the arthritis medicine is really having its effect.”

He adds, “May has now turned into a typical 3-year-old.” He said that when he found me running around the house, jumping onto the couch, confiscating socks, and trying to open the pantry door to steal food.

An As Good as Gold friend noted, “Nothing phases her.” And she’s right! Thunderstorms, fireworks, vacuum cleaners, louds TV’s—no problem. I even tried to help her vacuum when I stayed with her. She thought that was wild!

Oh, and she found out another favorite of mine: I absolutely love being brushed. She said she thought my coat was especially thick and gorgeous. It does show up nicely in the sun, doesn’t it?

I don’t do well with other dogs in my home so I need to be an only dog. It is unsure how I would do with cats. I met one once, but that was when I wasn’t feeling well. Due to my elbow and hip dysplasia I need a home without a lot of stairs. And someone who can continue my eye drops, seizure medicine and arthritis medication. Health issues aside, foster dad says you can’t ask for a more perfect dog. I am well behaved, I don’t chew on shoes, furniture, etc., I am gentle, loving and affectionate, and I love walks! He says I am a turnaround story! I am so happy to be here and be loved and can’t wait for my forever family!

Adoption Process
ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS, NO EXCEPTIONS:
  • Be at least 23 years of age

  • No children under 6 years of age living in your home

  • We primarily adopt goldens to families living within Illinois, Northwest Indiana, and the southern most counties of Wisconsin

  • If you do not own your residence or live in a condo, you will need a letter from your landlord or property management company

  • Provide excellent vet care for your dog(s)

  • Do not use an invisible fence

  • Are not over your town/county's pet limit

  • Have the knowledge and agreement of all adults living in the household

  • Be prepared to make a lifetime commitment

  • QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR POLICIES? All your answers in our Frequently Asked Questions section.

If interested please fill out our online adoption application form; please make sure you fill in every required field/question or your submission will not go through. Please note that we take time to learn as much as we can about each dog in our care and our bios are our current observations; we are unable to make any guarantees on the future health or temperament of your adopted dog. Most dogs in our care come with unknown pre-rescue history and as such breed and age estimates are an educated guess.

Available Goldens for Adoption