Lukas and Luna


Lukas, 5 years; Luna, almost 5 years


Male and female


Lukas, low to medium; Luna, medium to high

Fast Facts
  • Lukas, 85 pounds; Luna, 70 pounds

  • House-trained

  • Fenced yard required

  • Active family, but no young children

  • Both know basic manners

  • Comfortable confined in a gated area

Message From Lukas:

Luna and I lived with a family until very recently. Their family and house situation changed, and they felt they had neither the time nor space for us any longer.

People see me as an “old soul.” What? Well, I am reserved at times; some are drawn to my calmness. Maybe I have the personality of an older dog, and perhaps my extra weight contributes to this “calmness.” I’m an observer of everything going on in the house. What I’m hoping to find with my forever family is someone to take me for walks, fetch tennis balls for, and simply a loving human to sit next to. Oh, I do miss a fenced-in yard. I so miss the opportunity to run freely and observe and smell at my leisure.

I’m gentle with people, thought of as “sweet” and rarely jump when meeting people, which is can exciting event. Children can sometimes make me anxious — they’re full of movement and sometimes unexpected surprises, so I’ll do best in a home with older children.

Just so you know, I’m the handsome lighter dog in the photo; my sister is the redhead.

Message From Luna:

Lukas forgot to tell you about the toys; well, I guess I’m a bit more toy oriented than he is. They should  be strong toys, as I’ve been known to chew through softer ones. I greet people by bringing a treasured toy to them. (OK, sometimes I jump in greeting too — I’ll work on that!)

I’m more active than my brother. (He’s not my biological brother, but he was present when I was  brought to our home at 8 weeks old.) Foster mom says I have “endless energy,” more than Lukas for sure. We often play together, sometimes sharing toys and sometimes one of us confiscates them. We always work it out as we really do love being together.

I know for sure that a home with active people who enjoy walks, and letting Lukas and me run freely in the yard would be best for us. I just gotta have a yard because I’m a wildlife watcher. (I so want to find those bunnies under foster mom’s deck!)

Foster mom says I’m a sweet dog, too, and I actually do calm down sometimes. When I see her sitting on the floor, I like to maneuver my way onto her lap.

  • Be at least 23 years of age

  • No children under 6 years of age living in your home

  • We primarily adopt goldens to families living within Illinois, Northwest Indiana, and the southern most counties of Wisconsin

  • If you do not own your residence or live in a condo, you will need a letter from your landlord or property management company

  • Provide excellent vet care for your dog(s)

  • Do not use an invisible fence

  • Are not over your town/county's pet limit

  • Have the knowledge and agreement of all adults living in the household

  • Be prepared to make a lifetime commitment

  • QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR POLICIES? All your answers in our Frequently Asked Questions section.

If interested please fill out our online adoption application form; please make sure you fill in every required field/question or your submission will not go through. Please note that we take time to learn as much as we can about each dog in our care and our bios are our current observations; we are unable to make any guarantees on the future health or temperament of your adopted dog. Most dogs in our care come with unknown pre-rescue history and as such breed and age estimates are an educated guess.

Available Goldens for Adoption