My life as a lonely stray in Puerto Rico is a thing of the past. Over the past several months, I have become acclimated to living in a loving home under the guidance of my foster family. I am now accustomed to eating dog food instead of the human food I used to scrounge and beg for on the island. That doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy an occasional piece of beef jerky! As a guy who was always on the run before I was rescued, I am still very athletic and can run four miles with Foster Dad without complaint. I also walk well on a leash when I am wearing my harness.

I still need a little training on how to greet strange dogs. I usually just want to play, but I am unsure about how to approach other canines, especially if they are staring at me. Foster Dad is working on that with me and I get lots of treats when I don’t react negatively. I am learning what fun playing can be. My stuffed pet monkey is my best pal and I love swinging it around and tossing it into the air. Obeying obedience commands is second nature to me. I know “sit”, “stay”, “down”, “come” and occasionally choose to understand “leave it”.  I will fetch a tennis ball for a short time until I lose interest and I also like a rousing game of tug. I love children, so maybe they will teach me some new games in my forever home.  At one time, I was very frightened of cars. With a little encouragement, I will now willingly hop in with the hopes that we are going to the lake for a run. I am still not comfortable with going up and down stairs, but I hope that practice makes perfect.

I’m not allowed to get on the furniture, but I am happy to relax at the feet of my foster mom and dad and wait for a hug or scratch. I don’t like the idea of being crated, but I can be trusted to have the run of the house while left alone. I also sleep on my bed all night without a peep. Until I become more confident, I would like to be the only pet in my future home. My human family will be enough companionship for me!

Male

2 Years Old

Adoption Process
ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS, NO EXCEPTIONS:
  • Be at least 23 years of age

  • No children under 6 years of age living in your home

  • We primarily adopt goldens to families living within Illinois, Northwest Indiana, and the southern most counties of Wisconsin

  • If you do not own your residence or live in a condo, you will need a letter from your landlord or property management company

  • Provide excellent vet care for your dog(s)

  • Do not use an invisible fence

  • Are not over your town/county's pet limit

  • Have the knowledge and agreement of all adults living in the household

  • Be prepared to make a lifetime commitment

  • QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR POLICIES? All your answers in our Frequently Asked Questions section.

If interested please fill out our online adoption application form; please make sure you fill in every required field/question or your submission will not go through. Please note that we take time to learn as much as we can about each dog in our care and our bios are our current observations; we are unable to make any guarantees on the future health or temperament of your adopted dog. Most dogs in our care come with unknown pre-rescue history and as such breed and age estimates are an educated guess.

Available Goldens for Adoption