**NO DOGS, NO CATS, FENCED IN YARD (I will not go potty on a leash)

If I had a boyfriend, he’d say I’m “low maintenance.” To me a good day includes taking a walk in the fresh air with my foster dad (he’s very impressed because I don’t pull), chasing a tennis ball—just for a bit, and getting a belly rub.

I’m very good in my foster dad’s house: I’m housebroken, I don’t bother with his things, I’m not a counter surfer. Add to that, I know the commands sit, come, and shake. When I hopped onto the couch hoping to take a snooze, dad said, “Down.” And, I did so right away—no problem. The only time I bark is when I have to alert dad that someone’s at the door or a cat is in our yard.

Foster dad has provided a nice bed for me that makes me feel quite cozy. I sleep soundly in it all night long. During the day, whether foster dad is home or away, I have the run of the house. (I’m thinking he trusts me a lot.) When he leaves, guess what he gives me? A Kong stuffed with peanut butter! Wahoo!

When foster dad arrives home, I’m so excited to see him! I often greet him with a tennis ball or a stuffy toy in my mouth, ready to play! I also appreciate the quieter times with dad, like when he’s relaxing on the couch and I sit on the floor next to him getting petted. Then comes the very best moments of the day: belly rub time! After that I enjoy going to my resting spot for some quiet time.

Before moving in with dad, I lived in a house with school-age children and two other dogs. I enjoyed the children, but for some reason I began to clash with the other dogs.  For that reason, I would need to be the only dog in my forever home.

A few things make me anxious such as a long flights of stairs and changes in routine. So sometimes I can be found nesting under a desk or in my crate.

When I’m comfortable, it’s quite evident and I can be one of the sweetest dogs you’ll ever meet. I hope to find a forever home where my family and I can give each other loving and playful attention – – and where I can get belly rubs!

Female, 6 Years Old

Adoption Process
ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS, NO EXCEPTIONS:
  • Be at least 23 years of age

  • No children under 6 years of age living in your home

  • We primarily adopt goldens to families living within Illinois, Northwest Indiana, and the southern most counties of Wisconsin

  • If you do not own your residence or live in a condo, you will need a letter from your landlord or property management company

  • Provide excellent vet care for your dog(s)

  • Do not use an invisible fence

  • Are not over your town/county's pet limit

  • Have the knowledge and agreement of all adults living in the household

  • Be prepared to make a lifetime commitment

  • QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR POLICIES? All your answers in our Frequently Asked Questions section.

If interested please fill out our online adoption application form; please make sure you fill in every required field/question or your submission will not go through. Please note that we take time to learn as much as we can about each dog in our care and our bios are our current observations; we are unable to make any guarantees on the future health or temperament of your adopted dog. Most dogs in our care come with unknown pre-rescue history and as such breed and age estimates are an educated guess.

Available Goldens for Adoption