I am a sweet natured, low energy girl that would fit right in to any home.  I get along with dogs, cats and older kids.  My family gave me up because I didn’t like the toddler in the home, so they wanted me to find a family that will give me all the love and attention that I deserve for my golden years.

I love to go for walks, or strolls.  Sniffing everything is my favorite thing to do as we tour the neighborhood together.  I greet people and kids and other dogs and have that calm demeanor that everyone loves about goldens.

I enjoys human attention but I don’t have a clingy nature.  I will sometimes just go off and lay in my favorite spot for a nice nap.  I enjoy chewing on my bones and will de-stuff those silly toys, but I do have two favorite ones that I pull out of the toy box and then just leave them be.  Even though I am a golden retriever, I don’t fetch a tennis ball.  I love to be right by you and nuzzle you and would even love to be a lap dog.

I enjoy going for rides in the car, although I need a boost up, but then I lay there and enjoy the ride.  I have even been to the dog beach and had a great time seeing all the dogs and people.  I get the run of the house while my foster parents are gone and never do anything to the house.  I am a great houseguest.  My only issue is that it would be great to have you near me when the thunderstorms go by.

I have some arthritis so stairs are a bit tough for me, I just take it slowly as I go.  I also have some allergies and take a medicine called Apoquel that helps me so I don’t itch all the time.  I also eat really great food to help me too.   The vet also found some things on my liver that don’t seem to be a problem and I also have gall stones, but they don’t bother dogs like they do to people.

I am learning that the “golden nudge” gets me attention by anyone that is close to me.  Foster mom says I am a wonderful companion and all I require from a new family is love and attention.  Are you ready to have me unpack my bags and move right in to your home?

11 Year Old Female

Adoption Process
ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS, NO EXCEPTIONS:
  • Be at least 23 years of age

  • No children under 6 years of age living in your home

  • We primarily adopt goldens to families living within Illinois, Northwest Indiana, and the southern most counties of Wisconsin

  • If you do not own your residence or live in a condo, you will need a letter from your landlord or property management company

  • Provide excellent vet care for your dog(s)

  • Do not use an invisible fence

  • Are not over your town/county's pet limit

  • Have the knowledge and agreement of all adults living in the household

  • Be prepared to make a lifetime commitment

  • QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR POLICIES? All your answers in our Frequently Asked Questions section.

If interested please fill out our online adoption application form; please make sure you fill in every required field/question or your submission will not go through. Please note that we take time to learn as much as we can about each dog in our care and our bios are our current observations; we are unable to make any guarantees on the future health or temperament of your adopted dog. Most dogs in our care come with unknown pre-rescue history and as such breed and age estimates are an educated guess.

Available Goldens for Adoption