Age

5 Years

Sex

Female

Energy

Medium

Fast Facts
  • Must have physical fence

  • Shy and timid, afraid to walk on leash

  • May not get along with Female dogs

  • Unknown with cats

  • Need patient family due to being timid

  • Sweet natured girl

Bio:

My name is Claire and I’m 5-years old. Before living in my foster home, I spent five years as a mommy dog. Living in a house with very nice people and two playful furry siblings is fantastic! I feel like the luckiest dog in the whole wide world!

Foster mom is amazed at how quickly I’ve acclimated to this new lifestyle! She’s surprised at how early I’ve shown interest in attention and petting. I mastered the stairs right away, and I’m housetrained!

I have toys now! Here’s my new favorite thing: running in the fenced backyard with my foster siblings (sometimes I start the games), then grabbing a toy from the yard and hightailing it back inside and putting it in my safe spot. I enjoy my chew toys the most, they keep me quietly occupied for quite a while. Just so ya know, I don’t take medication to help me cope with the transition to my new lifestyle. Petting, running in the yard, and attention from friendly humans and life is sufficiently peaceful and happy.

I wrote that I “hightail it,” well, my tail is actually not so high. Nobody knows why, but I possess just half a tail and wag it wildly when seeking attention.

Oh, please take note, I’m terrified of the vacuum. When foster mom vacuums, she leaves the back door open so I can escape to the outdoors. I’d climb the fence if I could just to get away from it. My forever family will need a tall fence and be willing to help me conquer this fear. Leash walking is scary too, so my forever family should be willing to work with me on that so I can take walks with them.

One more thing!  One family tentatively adopted me, but I didn’t get along with their young and active female dog. It may have been a female-female issue (it happens) along with mismatched activity levels. Luckily foster mom took me back and it was decided that I either find a home with a male sibling or no sibling at all.

My foster mom describes me as “incredibly sweet.” Hopefully you can sense from my expression that I want to love and to please. And importantly, to be loved back. Just ‘cause I have a short tail doesn’t mean I can’t wag it wildly for a family who would love me “furever.”

Adoption Process
ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS, NO EXCEPTIONS:
  • Be at least 23 years of age

  • No children under 6 years of age living in your home

  • We primarily adopt goldens to families living within Illinois, Northwest Indiana, and the southern most counties of Wisconsin

  • If you do not own your residence or live in a condo, you will need a letter from your landlord or property management company

  • Provide excellent vet care for your dog(s)

  • Do not use an invisible fence

  • Are not over your town/county's pet limit

  • Have the knowledge and agreement of all adults living in the household

  • Be prepared to make a lifetime commitment

  • QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR POLICIES? All your answers in our Frequently Asked Questions section.

If interested please fill out our online adoption application form; please make sure you fill in every required field/question or your submission will not go through. Please note that we take time to learn as much as we can about each dog in our care and our bios are our current observations; we are unable to make any guarantees on the future health or temperament of your adopted dog. Most dogs in our care come with unknown pre-rescue history and as such breed and age estimates are an educated guess.

Available Goldens for Adoption