Although I am six years old, I am still learning a lot of new things.  For a while at my foster home, I wasn’t too sure about sharing anything with my foster sibling.  It has taken me a very long time to realize that she is nice and won’t bother me.  I still have to be watched all of the time with her so I don’t overreact.  I would definitely do better in a home without another dog so I can relax and not get worried.  I also would like a home that is calm and quiet.  I like older kids, but they make me nervous when there are a lot of them around and I get pretty anxious.  The sound of a door bell sometimes causes me to go into a barking frenzy. I am learning that the guest will give me attention if I remain calm.   Car rides are still scary to me and I can really steam up the windows with my panting! When I discover that there are pleasant destinations in store for me it will be easier for me to ride more serenely.

I love being loved by people and would love someone who is home more during the day to help me continue to build my confidence.  I would also love a fenced in yard and lots of walks, I do have a good amount of energy.  I can walk by other dogs, but probably shouldn’t go up and greet them since I get a little nervous and protective.

Fortunately, my foster mom is very patient with me and is using positive training and rewards to help me be more self-controlled and confident. She tells me I am a diamond in the rough and a work in progress.  She feels I’ve made great strides so far and am blossoming. There are so many things in this big world that I am learning to enjoy.  Warm baths are to die for and I look forward to a soft towel rubdown afterwards. I love feeling the wind in my whiskers as I run to my heart’s content in our fenced yard and I’m learning a new game called “Fetch the Squeaky Santa Toy.”  Sometimes I even bring it back to foster mom so we can continue our game. I could spend the whole day exploring the grounds or just relaxing in the sun, so an enclosed yard is essential for my happiness.  I’m building up my endurance on my leash walks two or three times a day, but I’m still a little nervous if I see another dog on our jaunts.

I am a gorgeous sixty-eight pound girl who is ready to spend forever with a family who will continue my training in a loving quiet environment.  I am very eager to please my humans and am a quick learner.  I would prefer to be your one-and-only fur baby so that I get all the treats in your pocket and unlimited ear scratches. In return, I will be content to be your devoted companion and an Angel at your feet.


6 Years Old

  • Be at least 23 years of age

  • No children under 6 years of age living in your home

  • We primarily adopt goldens to families living within Illinois, Northwest Indiana, and the southern most counties of Wisconsin

  • If you do not own your residence or live in a condo, you will need a letter from your landlord or property management company

  • Provide excellent vet care for your dog(s)

  • Do not use an invisible fence

  • Are not over your town/county's pet limit

  • Have the knowledge and agreement of all adults living in the household

  • Be prepared to make a lifetime commitment

  • QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR POLICIES? All your answers in our Frequently Asked Questions section.

If interested please fill out our online adoption application form; please make sure you fill in every required field/question or your submission will not go through. Please note that we take time to learn as much as we can about each dog in our care and our bios are our current observations; we are unable to make any guarantees on the future health or temperament of your adopted dog. Most dogs in our care come with unknown pre-rescue history and as such breed and age estimates are an educated guess.

Available Goldens for Adoption