Age

7 Years

Sex

Female

Energy

Medium

Fast Facts
  • Must have a mentor dog to follow to help build confidence

  • Must have a fenced in yard for potty breaks

  • Likes to go for walks

  • Loves to be with other dogs and people, doesn’t like to be left out of the fun

  • Terrified of getting near the car

  • Needs a family who is home a lot

Bio:

Needs: fenced-in yard and mentor dog

My name is Cara and I’m 7-years old.

I have two very favorite ways to spend my time. One, I enjoy the companionship of my furry foster sisters. I follow them around inside the house and out. Living in a house every day with a family is new to me, so I often step back and watch them so I can learn the ways of the world! Two, I love going for walks. Foster mom’s proud ‘cause I walk nicely on a leash! I’m happy to walk either with or without my sisters. Foster mom walks us in the mornings and in the evenings. I get to greet the neighbors—oh, and sometimes I attempt to chase squirrels.

You might like to know that I’m housebroken. And, I know the commands, “come” and “follow.” We’re working on more, and treats are a great encouragement!

I’ve become quite happy being inside the house. Most of the time now I take naps sprawled out on the floor in the family room with my sisters. Confined spaces can make me feel uncomfortable, but I have taken naps in an open crate in the family room too. Foster mom leaves the three of us on our own on the main floor when she leaves the house. No issues there! I even go upstairs with everyone now and take the stairs like a champ! I sleep up upstairs with my foster parents and my sisters. I like to sleep on a memory foam mat ‘cause I’m not a big fan of actual dog beds.

I am a fan of people though! I love getting attention and being petted and touched. I am quite familiar with the tactic of pushing my head into people’s hands to encourage more engagement.

I’m not a fan at all of getting into a car. What are these things? Foster mom has tried and tried but can’t get me closer than 3-4 feet of a car. Even my sisters’ examples of going in and out of cars doesn’t faze me. I back up, pull, and try to run. Foster mom’s wondering if it’s because of my dislike of confined spaces that’s scaring me away. All I know is they look dark inside and are off the ground. I don’t understand it, so am not enthused.

I am enthused about this big, wonderful world, the loving touch of people, and my doggie sisters. And I would absolutely be enthusiastic if I found my forever home.

Adoption Process
ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS, NO EXCEPTIONS:
  • Be at least 23 years of age

  • No children under 6 years of age living in your home

  • We primarily adopt goldens to families living within Illinois, Northwest Indiana, and the southern most counties of Wisconsin

  • If you do not own your residence or live in a condo, you will need a letter from your landlord or property management company

  • Provide excellent vet care for your dog(s)

  • Do not use an invisible fence

  • Are not over your town/county's pet limit

  • Have the knowledge and agreement of all adults living in the household

  • Be prepared to make a lifetime commitment

  • QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR POLICIES? All your answers in our Frequently Asked Questions section.

If interested please fill out our online adoption application form; please make sure you fill in every required field/question or your submission will not go through. Please note that we take time to learn as much as we can about each dog in our care and our bios are our current observations; we are unable to make any guarantees on the future health or temperament of your adopted dog. Most dogs in our care come with unknown pre-rescue history and as such breed and age estimates are an educated guess.

Available Goldens for Adoption