About Us

As Good as Gold – Golden Retriever Rescue of Illinois is a membership-based, volunteer-supported 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Questions? Contact us!

img_2882 smaller

Our Mission

As Good as Gold – Golden Retriever Rescue of Illinois is dedicated to the rescue, care and adoption of Golden Retrievers and golden mixes who are in need.  In addition, As Good as Gold educates Golden Retriever guardians and the general public about the importance of spaying/neutering, positive training methods, diet and exercise, appropriate medical treatment and humane care.

To demonstrate its ongoing commitment to the core values of integrity, honesty, fairness, openness respect, and responsibility, As Good as Gold has formally adopted a Statement of Values and Code of Ethics to which all board members, staff, and member/volunteers will adhere.

  • Our values support a rewarding experience as a member, volunteer, or partner.
  • Our respect for other ethical rescue groups promotes good working relationships.
  • Our best practices support sustained growth and organizational effectiveness.
  • Our passion enables small miracles for the dogs and the people who love them.

Download our 2014 federal 990 report.

img_3215smaller

Contact Us

If you have any questions, or would like to learn more about As Good as Gold, please contact As Good as Gold through the appropriate person below and we’ll be happy to help you.

Mailing Address
As Good as Gold – Golden Retriever Rescue of Illinois
PO Box 533
Wheeling, IL 60090
630-588-0115

General Information
Robin Sweeney, Executive Director
info@asgoodasgold.org

Adoptions
Kristin Vesely
adoptions@asgoodasgold.org

Dog Sitting
Lauren St. Andre
dogsitting@asgoodasgold.org

Education
education@asgoodasgold.org

Fiscal/Administrative
Laurie McConahay
fiscal@asgoodasgold.org

Fostering
Barb Beshears & Laurie Hetzel
fosterhomes@asgoodasgold.org

Fundraising Events
Joe Lunn
events@asgoodasgold.org

Golden Guardians/Reoccurring Donations
Tamara Roush
goldenguardians@asgoodasgold.org

Home Visits
Cyndi Raine-Dentinger
homevisits@asgoodasgold.org

Intake/Medical
Robin Sweeney
info@asgoodasgold.org

Membership/Volunteering
Janet Harrison
membership@asgoodasgold.org

PR/Marketing
Kristina Finney
pr-marketing@asgoodasgold.org

Technology/Web Support
Jim King
support@asgoodasgold.org

Transport
Marlene Pedone
transport@asgoodasgold.org

Success Stories
Email your As Good as Gold Success Stories to success@asgoodasgold.org

Board Of Directors

Robin Sweeney – Executive Director
Cyndi Raine-Dentinger – President
Joe Lunn – Vice President
Marlene Pedone  -Treasurer
Kristin Vesely – Secretary
Barbara Beshears – Director
Kristina Finney – Director
Janet Harrison – Director
Laurie Hetzel – Director
Jim King – Director
Laurie McConahay – Director